The Voice of Local Government
Contact the LGA

Keep Planning Local

2015 Planning Reform Campaign header image

With an integral role in the State’s current Planning and Development processes, Councils know that South Australia deserves a better planning system. But the State Government has progressed reforms that remove many local roles  which Councils believe will leave communities high and dry - with no voice and no choice about issues which affect them.
Keep planning Local Have your say Video


We need a more accessible, integrated and accountable system, one which supports jobs through appropriate development and gives developers and the community more certainty about outcomes. However this does not need to be at the expense of local input.  A charter which outlines opportunities for community engagement is a great idea, but not if there are less opportunities for participation.

A public survey backs these views.

The LGA has lodged a comprehensive submission to the Government on the Planning Bill. Find the submission summary and 40-page schedule outlining detailed improvements here. The submission was finalised after extensive consultation and consideration of public views in the survey. LGA CEO Matt Pinnegar said it was designed to deliver a kickstart to the economy without compromising community input. 

LGA media release on the submisson.

LGA Planning Reform Radio Ad sound files:

LGA_PlanningReform_RadioAd_1st Ad(1171 kb)

LGA_PlanningReform_RadioAd_2nd Ad(1165 kb)

The LGA acknowledges local radio station 5AA has given permission for us to load on the LGA's website.


2015 Planning Reform Campaign FAQ image  


Email your Member of Parliament

There is still an opportunity to tell your Member of Parliament that you want the opportunity to be heard on planning rules and developments. If you email them now.

If you know your State electorate/MP click on the link below. A draft email will be created for you to edit or send.

If not, click here to check your electorate and come back to email your MP: electorate finder.

State Local Members of Parliament - Surname

State Local Members of Parliament - By Electorate

Member for Adelaide - Ms Rachel Sanderson MP

Member for Ashford - Hon Stephanie Key MP

Member for Bragg - Ms Vickie Chapman MP

Member for Bright - Mr David Speirs MP

Member for Chaffey - Mr Tim Whetstone MP

Member for Cheltenham - Hon Jay Weatherill MP

Member for Colton - Hon Paul Caica MP

Member for Croydon - Mr Michael Atkinson MP

Member for Davenport - Mr Sam Duluk MP

Member for Dunstan - Mr Steven Marshall MP

Member for Elder - Ms Annabel Digance MP

Member for Enfield - Hon John Rau MP

Member for Finniss - Mr Michael Pengilly MP

Member for Fisher - Ms Nat Cook MP

Member for Flinders - Mr Peter Treloar MP

Member for Florey - Ms Frances Bedford MP

Member for Frome - Hon Geoff Brock MP

Member for Giles - Mr Edward Hughes MP

Member for Goyder - Mr Steven Griffiths MP

Member for Hammond - Mr Adrian Pederick MP

Member for Hartley - Mr Vincent Tarzia MP

Member for Heysen - Ms Isobel Redmond MP

Member for Kaurna - Mr Christopher Picton MP

Member for Kavel - Mr Mark Goldsworthy MP

Member for Lee - Hon Stephen Mullighan MP

Member for Light - Hon Tony Piccolo JP, MP

Member for Little Para - Mr Lee Odenwalder MP

Member for MacKillop - Mr Mitch Williams MP

Member for Mawson - Hon Leon Bignell JP, MP, Hon

Member for Mitchell - Mr Corey Wingard MP

Member for Morialta - Mr John Gardner MP

Member for Morphett - Dr Duncan McFetridge MP

Member for Mount Gambier - Mr Troy Bell MP

Member for Napier - Mr Jon Gee MP

Member for Newland - Mr Tom Kenyon MP

Member for Playford - Hon Jack Snelling MP JP

Member for Port Adelaide - Hon Susan Close MP

Member for Ramsay - Hon Zoe Bettison MP

Member for Reynell - Ms Katrine Hildyard MP

Member for Schubert - Mr Stephen Knoll MP

Member for Stuart - Mr Dan van Holst Pellekaan MP

Member for Taylor - Ms Leesa Vlahos MP

Member for Torrens - Ms Dana Wortley MP

Member for Unley - Mr David Pisoni MP

Member for Waite - Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP

Member for West Torrens - Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP

Member for Wright - Hon Jennifer Rankine MP

Additional information




LGA responds to claims made on radio by Minister Rau: LGA responds to Minister(581 kb)

Search Site
Advanced Search
Top of Page
GPO Box 2693, Adelaide SA 5001 | Phone: 8224 2000 | Fax: 8232 6336 | Email: