Skip to main content


2017 LGA Conference and Annual General Meeting - Circular 47.7

To Chief Executive Officer
Elected Members
Date 23 November 2017
Contact Rebecca Wake
Response Required No
Summary Presentations from the 2017 LGA Conference and AGM are now available. Further information can be found in this Circular.

The 2017 LGA Conference and Annual General Meeting was held on 15 & 16 November at Adelaide Oval. The event was attended by 250 delegates across the State. 

Presentations and photos

Presentations from the event are now available online at  

Photos from the event will be available shortly.


The LGA is always looking for ways to improve its events. If you would like to provide feedback from the recent Conference and AGM please click here to complete a short survey.

Years of service awards

Our Conference Dinner included the presentation of years of service certificates to council members who have served for two decades or more.

Congratulations to the following council members on reaching these significant milestones.

Please contact Rebecca at if you would like to recieve copies of the photos taken on the night.

20 Years of Service

  • Cr Dino Musolino – City of Playford
  • Mayor Robert Bria – City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters
  • Cr Evonne Moore – City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters
  • Cr Gwenda Lawlor  – Wattle Range Council
  • Cr William Jamieson – City of Onkaparinga
  • Cr Shiralee Reardon – City of Salisbury
  • Mayor Kevin Knight – City of Tea Tree Gully
  • Cr Clem Schubert – Rural City of Murray Bridge
  • Cr Trevor Davey – Yorke Peninsula Council
  • Cr Carol Martin – City of Port Adelaide Enfield

Combined service  (staff and council member – 21 years)

  • Cr Sandra Brown – City of Onkaparinga

25 Years of Service

  • Cr David Lamond – Wakefield Regional Council
  • Cr Gay Smallwood-Smith – City of Playford
  • Cr Kevin Duke – City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters
  • Cr Stuart Ghent – City of Charles Sturt
  • Cr Max O’Rielly – City of Playford
  • Cr David Whiting – Town of Walkerville

30 Years of Service

  • Cr Robert Grant – City of Charles Sturt

35 Years of Service

  • Mayor Leon Stasinowsky – District Council of Loxton Waikerie

Jim Hullick Award

The 2017 Jim Hullick Award was presented at the Conference Dinner on 15 November.

Named after our past LGA CEO Jim Hullick, this award recognises state and commonwealth public servants who have demonstrated a partnership approach in working with councils.

This year the award was presented to joint winners for the first time – Ronnie Faggotter and Geoff Strempel.

Ronnie was recognised for the tremendous work she’s done helping councils and communities recover after emergency events.

In her role as Director of the State Recovery Office, Ronnie has demonstrated great empathy and understanding of the need for local recovery planning.

Geoff started out working in local government as the Manager Libraries, Arts and Cultural Services at the City of Onkaparinga. He is currently Associate Director with the State Library of SA, where he works closely with councils and the LGA on the 100-odd libraries that councils run – and 40 they co-fund – across the State.

Since 2008 Geoff has played a pivotal role in the development, implementation and advancement of the One Card library network system.







Latest NewsView All

EventsView All

Back to top