The Voice of Local Government
Contact the LGA

Inaugural John Legoe Awards announced at LGA Conference

12 April 2007

Inaugural awards named for the late John Legoe, former President of the Local Government Association were presented during the LGA's biennial Conference dinner at the Adelaide Convention Centre last night.

John Legoe, the former Chairman of Kingston Council in the State's south-east, died in December 2005 after a short battle with cancer. He had just completed his term in office as President of the Local Government Association.

"During John's time as President he was a strong supporter of training and development of Council Members and continually sought out opportunities to enhance his knowledge and skills," LGA Executive Director, Wendy Campana said.

This award was established to recognize John's contribution to Local Government and the LGA and his approach to ensuring that he was representing his community and Local Government in an appropriate way.

John Legoe's wife Gayle presented the Awards with LGA President, Cr John Rich.

Alexandrina Mayor, Kym McHugh is the first recipient of the John Legoe Award for services to Local Government and Playford Councillor, Glenn Docherty was awarded the John Legoe "encouragement" award.

Mr McHugh began his career in Local Government in 1989, first becoming a Mayor in 1995 and then following an amalgamation of his Council was elected as the inaugural Mayor of the new Alexandrina Council.   He has held and still holds a number of community positions including member of the LGA State Executive Committee, Member and past President of his local regional association, member of the Minister's State/Local Forum, LGA Presiding Member and life member of the CFS Board, Presiding Member of a Commonwealth Area Consultative Committee and Member of the Regional Communities Consultative Council.

Mayor McHugh's community activities have involved him in the local RSL, Mount Compass Area School and Lions Club, being Patron of Surf Lifesaving SA and the Goolwa Aquatic Club, member of the Strathalbyn Racing Club and the Southern Justices Association, Life Member and Vice President of the Mount Compass Football Club, Chairman of the River Port of Goolwa Authority, The SA Variety Club Hall of Fame (1998), Chair of the Ngarrindjeri Reconciliation Group.

"Encouragement" award winner, Cr Glenn Docherty was first elected to Playford Council at the age of 19 years.   He is currently the youngest member on his Council, works as a registered nurse and has completed a Bachelor of Nursing with the University of SA. 

He is also the Council's Deputy Mayor, represents his Council on a number of committees and is a strong advocate for promoting economic development and environmental sustainability in his area. 

Cr Docherty also works as a volunteer in his spare time with the St John Ambulance, is President of the St John SA Youth Council and is one of 2 SA representatives on the St John Australia Youth Council. 


For further information contact:
Mary Ann Stenberg, Media Liaison Officer, Mobile 0428 834 376
Ms Wendy Campana, Executive Director, Mobile 0417 861 783 

Search Site
Advanced Search
Top of Page
GPO Box 2693, Adelaide SA 5001 | Phone: 8224 2000 | Fax: 8232 6336 | Email: