Skip to main content

Latest News

Resignation of LGA President Mayor Rosenberg

LGA President Mayor Lorraine Rosenberg has resigned following a special meeting of the LGA Executive Committee today.

The group met this afternoon at Mayor Rosenberg’s request, to allow her to seek feedback from her elected peers.

The Executive Committee comprises the President, Immediate Past President and four Vice Presidents appointed by the LGA Board. 

Mayor Rosenberg said she respected and accepted the Executive Committee’s recommendation that her resignation was in the best interests of the sector.

“My whole reason for accepting the Presidency in the first place was to be a fierce advocate for the benefits of local government,” Mayor Rosenberg said.

“As my current position is not adding positively to both the LGA and to local government, I have decided to tender my resignation.”

“I wish my replacement and the organisation the best of luck and pledge my ongoing strong support.”

A special meeting of the LGA Board will be held next week to appoint a new President under the LGA Constitution.

Immediate Past President Mayor Dave Burgess said the sector was currently facing a range of issues, and it was important to work together to address these challenges and opportunities.

"Some of our key priorities include increasing participation at this year's council elections, and a proactive reform agenda for both the sector and the LGA,” Mayor Burgess said.

"We all understand that improvements need to be made in all aspects of local government and, most likely, all corners of the State, but we should also be proud of the good work that happens every day in councils around SA for communities.”

The next full term of the LGA President will commence in October 2018, and nominations will open at the end of July. 

In accordance with the LGA’s Constitution, the next President will be appointed from a regional council.

Latest NewsView All

EventsView All

Back to top