# SA Coastal Councils Alliance – Terms of Reference

# Objectives

- 1. To provide an informed, coordinated advocacy voice for issues impacting on Coastal Councils in SA
- 2. To provide a forum for information sharing and networking on coastal management issues facing Councils across SA.
- 3. To ensure all SA Coastal Councils are regularly updated on the work of the Alliance.

## Membership

 Automatic membership of all 34 Coastal Councils - Grant, Wattle Range, Robe, Kingston, Coorong, Alexandrina, Victor Harbor, Kangaroo Island, Yankallila, Onkaparinga, Marion, Holdfast Bay, West Torrens, Charles Sturt, Port Adelaide Enfield, Salisbury, Playford, Adelaide Plains, Wakefield, Yorke Peninsula, Copper Coast, Barunga West, Port Pirie, Mount Remarkable, Port Augusta, Whyalla, Franklin Harbor, Cleve, Tumby Bay, Port Lincoln, Lower Eyre, Elliston, Streaky Bay, Ceduna.

## **Executive Committee**

• Two representatives with an active interest and strong links to key local government and coastal networks to be elected from Councils within each of the following coastal zones:

## <u>South</u>

Grant, Wattle Range, Robe, Kingston, Coorong, Alexandrina, Victor Harbor, Kangaroo Island, Yankallila

#### <u>Metropolitan</u>

Onkaparinga, Marion, Holdfast Bay, West Torrens, Charles Sturt, Port Adelaide Enfield, Salisbury, Playford

#### <u>North</u>

Adelaide Plains, Wakefield, Yorke Peninsula, Copper Coast, Barunga West, Port Pirie, Mount Remarkable, Port Augusta, Whyalla

<u>West</u>

Franklin Harbor, Cleve, Tumby Bay, Port Lincoln, Lower Eyre, Elliston, Streaky Bay, Ceduna

• The President of the LGA shall be an ex-officio member of the Coastal Councils Alliance.

## Chair

- One Chair and one Deputy Chair shall be selected from and by the Executive Committee members.
- The Chair of the Executive Committee shall be the Chair and primary spokesperson of the Coastal Councils Alliance.

## **Meeting Frequency**

- To minimise travel, the SA Coastal Councils Alliance will meet twice per year in April and October, in conjunction with SA Local Government Associations ordinary and annual general meetings.
- The Executive Committee will meet at least quarterly.

## Resources

- Executive support for the Coastal Councils Alliance and Executive Committee shall be provided by the Coastal Councils Alliance Coordinator.
- Core funding for the Alliance shall be sought from an equal, annual allocation from the LGA's Greater Adelaide Regional Organisation of Councils (GAROC) and SA Regional Organisation of Councils (SAROC) (tbc from 2021).
- Additional project or specialist support shall be funded by grants, Councils or other external assistance as relevant.

## **Delegated Authority**

• Nil – The Coastal Councils Alliance is an informal network and has no formal structure or legal authority.