LGASA Mutual Board

LGASA Mutual Board

The Board of LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd replaces the two previous boards of the LGAWCS and LGAMLS.  The new skills based Board consists of five Directors being an independent Chair (David Holston), two independent directors (Dascia Bennett and one vacant), a State Government representative (Tim Burfield) and the LGA CEO (Matt Pinnegar).

The LGASA Mutual Board is accountable to and reports to the LGA Board of Directors.  The LGA Board of Directors has approved a constitution for LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd, delegated a number of activities relating to the operations of the Schemes to the Mutual Board, and has appointed a CEO (Dr Andrew Johnson) to manage LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd and the contract with the Schemes Service provider.

LGASA Mutual Board Members

David HolstonMr David Holston

Independent Director / Chair

David has extensive experience in insurance, superannuation and investments covering a period of 40 years.  He is currently a Board Member and Chair of the Investment Committee at the Statewide Superannuation Fund in South Australia as well as Chair of the Investment Committee to the Public Trustee also in South Australia.

Previously David spent nearly twenty years as an Executive Director at one of Australia's leading asset consulting firms where he worked with Insurers in Life and General, Health, Workers Compensation and Third Party Motor Vehicle Insurances as well as with large Superannuation Funds, Government and Corporate clients.

Prior to this period David was CEO/MD of a large Life and General Insurer and CEO/MD of a Corporate Trustee company.  David has also been a Board representative on industry wide bodies in Insurance and Superannuation and was Chair of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia.

David has tertiary qualifications in Economics/Politics as well as post graduate qualifications in Business, Finance, Superannuation and Industrial Relations.

Dascia BennettDascia Bennett

Independent Director

With over 18 years’ experience in the superannuation industry in the not-for-profit sector, Dascia held senior executive roles with leading industry and public sector funds (including Australian Super, REST, EISS and NGS Super).  Dascia’ s experience includes leading customer focused areas of business, including member services, business development, brand management, insurance and administration operations and key stakeholder management.

Dascia holds a Public Policy degree (Flinders University), a Diploma of Financial Services (Financial Planning), a Certificate in Superannuation Fund Management, is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and the Australian School of Business (University of NSW) AGSM Executive Program.

Tim BurfieldTim Burfield

State Government Representative / Director

Tim Burfield is the Director, Insurance at SAicorp, a division of the South Australian Government Financing Authority (SAFA), a position he has held for over ten years.  He has held a number of positions on Government boards and is presently a Government representative on the Boards of LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd and the Lessor Corporation entities.  In the not for profit sector Tim is a board member of the South Australian Asthma Foundation.

Tim spent 20 years of his career specialising in corporate insolvencies and turnarounds.  He was a Principal at Ernst and Young for a number of years and a Court Liquidator.  Tim also spent some time at National Australia Bank in its Asset Restructuring and Business Development areas.

Matt PinnegarMatt Pinnegar

LGA Representative / Director

Matt Pinnegar has a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Adelaide and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of South Australia.  He has been the CEO of the LGASA since September 2015. His previous roles have included External Affairs Manager and principal contact in South Australia for BP’s Great Australian Bight Exploration Program, and Chief of Staff to South Australia’s Minister for Transport, Energy and Infrastructure.

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Andrew JohnsonDr Andrew Johnson

Andrew has 25 years senior management experience in Local Government with the last 15 being at CEO level.  He is currently CEO of LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd, Executive Director Corporate Governance at the LGA and the Deputy Chair and Audit Committee Chair of the Local Government Finance Authority.

Andrew was previously employed as the CEO of Port Pirie Regional Council, and has served on numerous local, regional and national committees as well as a number of NFP Boards.

Andrew is a Fellow, an ex. State President of CPA Australia, a member of LG Pro and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, as well as holding an MBA and a PhD in local government economics.

Andrew has been engaged by the LGA and LGASA Mutual Pty Ltd to ensure the Schemes continue to provide value to Members and to oversee the service delivery contract with JLT/LGRS.