Related Organisations

Local Government Entities in South Australia

The organisations below work with the LGA of SA to support local government in South Australia.

LGA Workers Compensation Scheme (LGAWCS)

Provides workers compensation cover and risk management services to all councils in SA.

LGA Mutual Liability Scheme (LGAMLS)

Provides public liability and professional indemnity cover and risk management services to all councils in SA.

LGA Asset Mutual Fund

A commercial arrangement between the LGA and Jardine Lloyd Thomson (JLT) Pty Ltd to provide asset insurance services to all councils in SA.

Local Community Insurance Services (LCIS)

A commercial arrangement brokered by JLT provides protection to local community groups and not for profits through tailored insurance and risk mangement solutions that meet the needs of the local government and community sectors.

Local Government Finance Authority

A separate statutory authority established pursuant to the Local Government Finance Authority Act, which borrows and invests in bulk for councils.

StatewideSuper - Trust the Local

Previously known as the Local Government Superannuation Scheme, it was originally established pursuant to the Local Government Act but now part of a larger SA scheme. StatewideSuper manages superannuation for local government in SA and the Northern Territory.

Regional Local Government Associations

Local Government in SA is well organised in Regional Local Government Associations (RLGAs), which are independent associations. There are six primary RLGAs in country SA (these can be seen coloured differently on the Council Maps page) as well as the Greater Adelaide Region of Councils (GAROC). Representatives from the six country regions meet together as a committee called the SA Region Organisations of Councils (SAROC) Committee. In addition there are other groups which meet around common geographic interests.

Eyre Peninsula LGA

Legatus Group

Limestone Coast LGA

Murraylands & Riverland LGA

Southern and Hills LGA

Spencer Gulf Cities LGA

Australian Local Government Association

The Australian Local Government Association (ALGA) was founded in 1947. It is a federation of associations in each of Australia's six states, the Northern Territory and the Government of the Australian Capital Territory.

The LGA of South Australia is an active participant in ALGA affairs.

Interstate Associations

Equivalent bodies to the LGA exist in every other State and Territory in Australia. For further information please click on the links below.

Local Government Association of NT

Local Government Association of Queensland

Local Government Association of Tasmania

Local Government NSW

Municipal Association of Victoria

The Western Australian Local Government Association

Local Government Transport Advisory Panel

The Local Government Transport Advisory Panel (LGTAP) has been established to propose and monitor a continuing program of projects for the prioritisation of funding under the Special Local Roads Program (SLRP). The LGTAP replaced the Local Roads Advisory Committee.

Stormwater Management Authority

The Stormwater Management Authority was established on 1 July 2007 under the Local Government (Stormwater Management) Amendment Act 2007.